Self Portrait 30/01/2013

Self Portrait 30012013

Self Portrait 30/01/2013

23 comments

    • Syncopated Eyeball

      Daisy Fae, I remember a photo of you and Nurse Myra in which your arms are draped over her. YOUR hands are beautiful hands.

      My mother has beautiful hands, I just love them.
      They are very elegant. I asked her if I could photograph them and she said yes; now I just have to do it.
      I remember them as soft, cool, and soothing to my forehead when I was unwell when little.

      There’s a standing joke between us:

      Little Me: Oh, Mummy, your hands are so soft! Oh, they’re just like an old leather glove!

      I meant it in the nicest possible way. 🙂

    • Syncopated Eyeball

      🙂 Oh, yes, her fingers. This comparison pleases me a great deal, especially as I wasn’t thinking of any such thing when I made this image. Thank you, Robert.

      What I had in my mind’s eye were the colours of my blouse, of my nails, and of the stone (Aventurine or Jade, I think, but don’t know); also the little objects: key, skull, stone, candle.

    • Syncopated Eyeball

      Thank you, Richard. I wonder what you’re trying to decode. 🙂

      The key: The key to the box within which lay the ashes of one of the greatest joys of my life: Jack the Cat. Also a heart-shaped rose quartz crystal, one of Jack’s claws that I found in the carpet after he’d gone, and a tiny bit of lavender.

      The skull: Everyone has one and I see it as symbolic of the ‘sameness’ of us all – in a good way. And I do think about death a lot. Not so morbid as it sounds. I try to come to grips with the nature of it and loss in general. I know that death is a part of life but I find it hard to actually accept, though occasionaly I’d like to leave this dubious party and go home.

      The stone: I think it’s aventurine which is good for ease of communication with other people. Otherwise it’s jade which is good too, for what I can’t remember. Whatever. I like the colour.

      The candle: Amnesty International Symbol. Probably my favourite charitable organisation. Defenders of free speech. Champions of those persecuted/jailed/murdered for their beliefs.

  1. elmediat

    This portrait is a polished composition. Delicate feminine mystery – hand, neck, key & skull. Very well done. 🙂

What do you think?

