Farewell, dear Shaun

Jams! 03082011

Jams! (2011)
Ashley Lily Scarlett

My blogging friend, Shaun Downey (aka Jams O’Donnell of The Poor Mouth blog) has left this life. I would have liked to have met him in person. I found him a good man and my heart goes out to Shirley and the rest of their family.

He took photos of (amongst other things) flowers.
To me they are flower portraits and they are exceptionally beautiful. Instantly recognisable as the work of Shaun. Spectacular but gentle. I’ve always wished he would one day exhibit them.

Farewell, dear Shaun. x

(The image above is called ‘Jams!’ because I came across this naturally formed (I think) marking ages ago and when I saw it I immediately thought of him. His avatar at one point looked like a black question mark but it was infact an abstract image of one of his beloved cats, Mimi.)

11 comments

  1. Claude

    AuRevoir, Shaun. It has been a joy and a blessing to have known Jams. I deeply miss him. My thoughts are with his loved ones.

  2. spilledinkguy

    I’m so incredibly sorry to hear this, S.E…
    I didn’t have the pleasure of meeting Shaun… but he sounds wonderfully kind and creative, and I can tell he will be missed very, very much…

  3. elmediat

    It is amazing how here in the digital world of the social media, we can make such a close connection to individuals. It is the power of human creativity, communication & spirit to transcend the physical. Hope all who were so touched by Shaun an take comfort in their shared experience with him: it was more than virtual, it was real.

    • Don QuiScottie

      When we meet face to face the closeness is a bit of an illusion, as our minds still just communicate indirectly by sound waves and light. We can never see each others’ minds, and minds are all we really are. Communicating online can achieve as much, or more. As I have said elsewhere I never met Shaun but through many communications I know (knew) him better than many people I meet every week.

  4. Syncopated Eyeball

    Thank you to you all, very much for sharing yourselves in these comments.
    I don’t feel I can answer them all individually, nor that I should.

    I will say that what I wrote is by no means exhaustive of the good thoughts I have about Shaun.

    Joseph and Andrew and Daisy Fae have expressed similar views to my own regarding communication and relationship via the internet. These are what you make of them.
    I consider Shaun a friend like any other.

What do you think?

