Palm Trunk

Palm Trunk 2013

Palm Trunk (2013)
Ashley Lily Scarlett

28 comments

  1. nannus

    It is interesting that one can sometimes see the beauty only when you take things out of context. If they are in the context, you will identify a palm and then the attention goes away. It requires some training to spot such beautiful structures. If you choose a detail view where you cannot see what it is, the beauty suddenly becomes visible, because the perceptive machinery remains active.
    Nice picture.

  2. healingmagichands

    I think your way of looking at the world has affected me. It has made me more aware of the art that exists in the microcosms around us. And it also has made me look at the patterns of large structures differently, which really came out when I went and saw Shasta Dam.

    I really like this shot a lot, it is perfect for black and white.

    • Syncopated Eyeball

      Thank you, Karen. I’m glad you like the tones as I did this in my new phone and I’m not at all used to the editing tools.
      As for my work being strong: well, thank you, thank you! 🙂

  3. spilledinkguy

    You know… I don’t think I would have guessed what your subject matter was without the title, S.E. (probably because I’m not used to seeing too many palms in person 😦 )… but I’m fairly certain I would have thought ‘organic’ regardless of that. It almost reminds me of something viewed under a microscope…
    🙂

    • Syncopated Eyeball

      There are different kinds of Palms to be seen here in Sydney. I must admit I don’t like them nearly as much as the trees found in cooler climates. I think we’re classed as sub-tropical.

  4. daisyfae

    Back when i was in Metalography class, we used to polish and etch pieces of metal, and then examine the grain structure under high powered microscopes. This image? Reminds me of those images… Very cool!

    • Syncopated Eyeball

      That’s so interesting, Daisy Fae, I’d love to look at all manner of things under a high powered microscope. I’ve always been fascinated with pictures of germs and plant cells etc viewed that way.

What do you think?

