Treasures

21 comments

    • Ashley Lily Scarlett

      Thanks, Richard. I was reminded of this series when searching through my archives for Between Scarlett and Guest.
      I like the navigator too. I’ve had her for so long: twenty something years. She used to have arms. πŸ™‚

    • Ashley Lily Scarlett

      I LOVE odd looking dolls. They have never scared me, not even in horror movies when they’re supposed to.
      This fear of dolls came up on this blog years ago and apparently it’s quite common. Like the multitude of fears that exist, this one has a name: ‘Pediophobia’. Fear of clowns is rampant too: coulrophobia (Those I just find boring). And if you are scared of dolls, clowns, mannequins etc, it’s called ‘automatonophobia’.
      I find all this immensely interesting because I’m fascinated with all simulacra of the human form. Peter at .documenting.the.obvious recently introduced me to a concept known as ‘the uncanny valley’, which goes some way to explain this revulsion and/or fear so many people share.

      • elmediat

        I think that automatonophobia and the uncanny valley is related in a way to autism. The autistic individual has difficulty interpreting behaviour & facial/vocal expression. I have had students who have some level of autism. Other students are put of by them because their facial & vocal expression seem wrong to the average person.

        I think that automatonophobia and the uncanny valley is a more extreme reaction to the incomplete/altered facial/body behaviour . The appearance either invites interaction but then stops or the expression/behaviour seems off or out of context. Individuals do not know what the proper response is and feel threatened/ill at ease. It is as if discordant notes suddenly enter a familiar piece of music – a squeaking chalkboard in the middle of a waltz .

        Love the gallery. The framing of the subject matter combines with B&W and shifts the emotional context. The viewer must supply context to ambiguous images – uncertain communication forcing to viewer to decide on a response.

What do you think?

