In a Corner, like a Rat, I Will Bite

In a Corner, like a Rat, I Will Bite (2012/2015) Ashley Lily Scarlett

In a Corner, like a Rat, I Will Bite (2012/2015)
Ashley Lily Scarlett

I like tame rats. They’re intelligent and affectionate. And their little hands are so delicately beautiful. Using their teeth, they will run off with anything that can be used to line the nest which they are building inside the bottom of your sofa. Cigarettes. Tampons. Tissues. Thoroughly chewed up pencils. She was so cute, Milly. Once we did a dance in a circle. I was naked. I felt like a pagan queen.

textΒ Β© Ashley Lily Scarlett 2015

14 comments

    • Ashley Lily Scarlett

      They’re much maligned. I’m glad you enjoyed them. πŸ™‚
      I had Milly with me about 25 years ago. I was having a stall at a small market when a little girl came up to me, holding her out to me in her hands. She said, ” Woukd you like to buy a rat for $2 or $1 or $3?”. πŸ™‚

  1. Lucy

    I read rats can learn their names and come when they are called, which is more than my cat will do, and more than my teenager. πŸ™‚

What do you think?

