Prayers of Peace for Paris

13th November 2015

13th November 2015 Terrorist Attack on Paris

At the Bottom of the Eiffel Tower (aka I've Never Been to Paris) (2012) Ashley Lily Scarlett

At the Bottom of the Eiffel Tower (aka I’ve Never Been to Paris) (2012)
Ashley Lily Scarlett

In fact I don’t ‘pray’ as such.
I do a loving kindness meditation.
I don’t think there’s much difference.

May the people of Paris be free from fear
May the people of Paris have mental ease
May the people of Paris have physical ease
May the people of Paris dwell in peace

9 comments

  1. calmgrove

    For those who don’t ‘do’ praying (I don’t either) the alternative memes I’ve seen are #actforparis and #jesuisparis. But the common theme is peace, isn’t it, which you’ve caught here. The very apposite words of Lennon’s Imagine really spring to mind on such an occasion like this.

    • Ashley Lily Scarlett

      Thank you, Chris. I really do think that kind of meditation is the same as prayer; just not directed to ‘God’, but a concentration of positive energy nonetheless. I have a faith but no religion.
      I don’t like ‘je suis Paris’. I realise it’s supposed to mean solidarity, but I was not there, I did not suffer and I don’t presume to have an understanding of how it felt to be there. It suggests empathy whereas I can only offer sympathy.
      ‘act for Paris’ I don’t understand. Act how? Do what?
      Yes, Lennon’s song has never felt more appropriate to me.
      Thanks for getting my mind going on this Monday morning, Chris. šŸ™‚

    • Ashley Lily Scarlett

      Thank you, Malin. I can’t take all the credit, in fact hardly any. I read a book about loving kindness meditation and it had guidelines but suggested you choose your own words so that it would resonate with you as much as possible.

    • Ashley Lily Scarlett

      You just repeat the words over and over in your head.You start off with ‘May I . . .’, then,after practising this over a period of time, you replace ‘I’ with someone you love, then when you’ve been doing that over time, replace with someone you don’t like, perhaps someone you find it hard to forgive. Then when you can do that, (it’s hard to start off with, but eventually gives you a feeling of peace). Slowly you expand the ‘recipients’ until you can include everyone which is damn hard. For example the book suggests things like ‘the tortured and the torturers’. I am nowhere near that!

What do you think?

