Untitled XC (and an anniversary)

Untitled XC (2015) Ashley Lily Scarlett

Untitled XC (2015)
Ashley Lily Scarlett

The 20th December marks the one year anniversary of Between Scarlett and Guest, the blog I share with Richard Guest.
It’s a project that I continue to enjoy, this conversation in images that Richard and I are having. We each reply to the last image the other posted. I really enjoy the puzzle solving side to this. And it’s interesting to look back over one’s archives, which is where most of my images for BSAG come from. Often needing to crop things into the square format, that we decided on from the beginning, is fun in itself: reconsidering the composition.
And seeing as we do this most days, I have an almost daily prompt for inspiration.
Thank you, Richard. πŸ™‚

21 comments

  1. Frankie Beane

    I came in just a few weeks ago so I don’t know the back story. Did y’all know each other from before? How did you decide to do this thing between you? Details. I need detsials. That is half the fun. Congrats on one year!

    • Ashley Lily Scarlett

      We knew eachother from our respective blogs. We almost met when I went to my father’s funeral in London, but I was all weird and grieving.
      Anyway, Richard asked me if I would like to collaborate in some way and I leapt at the chance – I had been working up the courage to ask him. So we came up with Between Scarlett and Guest. Much emailing between us as we worked out the details. We managed this quite easily, I think. Pretty cool, I think, too. πŸ™‚

  2. elmediat

    Congratulations to you both. That conversation is a wonderful example of new forms of art arising from the implied space of new mass media technology.

What do you think?

